Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

IMG_7830

This is probably one of the first cookies I learned to make when I was young. When I was a senior in high school, my parents moved to Texas and allowed me to finish my cherished years in high school in an apartment in Arkansas with my brother who was in college. In an attempt to cure some homesickness, I traveled to visit my family to Amarillo via a sketchy Greyhound bus. While I was gone, my brother got a craving for these cookies I had made him once before. Upon arriving back to our apartment, I opened up our fridge to find a bowl full of dark brown, gooey liquid. I then heard my brother admit, “Oh yeah. I tried making those cookies.” Apparently he didn’t add quite enough flour. I’m sure he wasn’t planning on even getting to the baking step because I witnessed this same brother, a few years later as we both ventured to college to Utah,  lick a bowl clean full of a Jiffy blueberry muffin mix prior to the oven preheating to make his muffins. He does love batter. Those with raw egg aversions, turn away.


Anyway, here’s a great, moist, and slightly messy to eat cookie recipe:


Chocolate Crinkle Cookies


1 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1/2 c. vegetable oil

4 eggs

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. confectioner’s sugar


In a medium bowl, mix together cocoa, white sugar, and vegetable oil. Beat in eggs one at a time, then stir in the vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder, and salt; stir into the cocoa mixture. Cover dough, and chill for at least 4 hours.


Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Line cookie sheets with parchment paper. Roll dough into one inch balls. Roll each ball in a bowl full of confectioner’s sugar. Then place on cookie sheet.

Bake in preheated oven for 10 to 12 minutes. Let stand on the cookie sheet for a minute before transferring to wire racks to cool.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies

Leave a comment